Swimming Suits and Aliens?

Elder Burgess is enjoying the beginning of summer in New Zealand.

Kylenz

This week Elder Walker and I set a young woman for baptism on December 21st.  First we had to commit her to live the word of wisdom.  It is amazing how many people are challenged with word of wisdom issues.  After she said she wanted to be baptized she asked, “Do I wear a swimming suit when I get baptized?”…

We are also teaching two boys that are 12 and 10.  Their father is a member but he hasn’t been to Church since he was 20.  We got to play basketball with them for 6 weeks before they finally let us teach them.  After we taught them about the Plan of Salvation they asked to be baptized…

We are very excited that one of our investigator couples is getting married this week in preparation for their baptism in January…

We taught someone this last week who thinks that all humans came from aliens.  Missionaries are taught to try to find common beliefs, but we had a hard time with that one. She believes in Jesus Christ and in a God, but she doesn’t know that God created all of us here on Earth…

I was discouraged at one point last week and I began thinking about everything I have given up over the past few years to follow the promptings I have received to redirect myself away from certain activities and experiences that I thought I wanted.  While doing this I was praying for help to overcome my discouragement.  The words, “All of your losses will be made up,” came to my mind through the Spirit.  I was thinking about how that was a nice scripture, but then a few days later I realized that it wasn’t in the scriptures.  Then I realized that it was a special message sent directly to me from Heavenly Father…

A guy we are teaching added a different perspective to the importance of whether someone should join our Church when he said, “We’re not talking about choosing a new brand of rice; I’m not choosing a new brand of car either; this is a life changing decision!”…

We found out that someone told one of our investigators that we use water for the sacrament instead of wine because it’s cheaper.  We had to clean that up a bit…

Elder Walker and I rode all the way up a HUGE hill to do a service project and when we got there the guy told us he didn’t want our help…Nice!…

I’m going golfing on P-day today!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

