Getting Very Busy

I had the opportunity to give the spiritual thought at Zone Training on Tuesday.  I wanted to talk about temples, but the Spirit instructed me that the topic should be about the role of the Book of Mormon in conversion.  Reading something like that in Preach My Gospel is good, but then to be able to teach it and apply it is even better…

I love serving in Henderson.  The members here trust us more and are far more willing to help Elder Walker and I teach than they were during the first several weeks here.  Elder Walker and I are getting really busy too.  It has been a blessing to learn how to find people to teach when we initially had no one, and now we have a lot of people to teach and we still recognize that we need to continue finding more…

Two sisters in the ward were fighting over which one was going to feed us one Sunday.  That’s a nice problem to have…

We’re teaching a Chinese family now.  They were married in China and moved to New Zealand two months ago.  They both speak good English, but they want to read the Book of Mormon in Mandarin.  I have used my Chinese so much here, it’s awesome.  After we said three sentences or so each, the woman asked if she could be baptized.  We met them one day knocking doors, which is how we meet almost all of investigators by the way…

Last Monday the Ward Mission Leader found two wooden golf clubs in a trash pile and snatched them for me.  Elder Walker and I hit them at the park behind our flat for exercise one morning.  Actually, I got most of the exercise because I ran to pick the balls up…

Thanks for the fried chicken recipe.  I promised one of our investigators a new fried chicken recipe if he agreed to come to church.  Whatever it takes, right?…

Have you seen the Hercules TV show from the 80s? It was filmed on the land near our chapel…

The Shire is in the Hamilton mission, which isn’t that far from West Auckland, but we aren’t allowed to go outside of mission boundaries…

December 3rd was one of the most important days of my mission so far.  I got to lead the area for the first time while Elder Walker was in the Swanson Ward.  I was with the District Leader so I had a car for the first time.  One of our new investigators said to us that day, “I did something I told you I would never do.  I prayed…”  Later, we were teaching someone about the Plan of Salvation and they said they had no interest, until we pulled out a Book of Mormon and they got all excited and said they would read it after having just said that they didn’t have time to read the Plan of Salvation pamphlet.  It was unusual, but it was a good reminder of the importance of the Book of Mormon in conversion…

I learned how to crack a whip and how to throw a spear…

I got to lead the Henderson area again, this time with one of the Zone Leaders.  We did not have a car though.  So I biked the Elder to death.  He had been telling us how much he disliked having a car and how much fun riding bikes was, and this had been going on for a few weeks, so I took him for a ride.  We went up and down almost every major hill in the area at least once.  By the end of the trade-off he was sick of biking…

I got to speak about service in sacrament meeting yesterday.  Then I taught the Gospel Principles lesson…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

