The Work is Hastening

IMG_0037witheldersecrest

Henderson Stake just received a new Stake Presidency and Elder Pearson from the Seventy came to make the changes.  I got a fist bump from him as he walked in.  Our ward mission leader spoke at the Saturday evening session and he made mention of me and my decision to serve only weeks after turning 18.  Then during his talk, Elder Pearson said the following:  “The work is hastening. Missionary work is not feeding the missionaries. Don’t let one of the most historic events of the restoration pass you by.  Allow the missionaries to teach the gospel to your family and friends.”  Just a week earlier I was prompted to tell the members of the ward during my talk in Sacrament meeting the following: “While we really appreciate the meal appointments, what we really want is for you to pray about someone who we can teach in your home.  This evening, take the opportunity to pray for someone you can help us teach.” It was comforting to hear Elder Pearson deliver a similar message…

We found 5 families to teach in one day this week.  Several people have told me that knocking on doors is a waste of time, but the Spirit has compelled me to do it, and great success has come from it…

Sometimes we have to strongly encourage people to read the Book of Mormon and let them know that when we come back we will ask them to give us an update on their reading.  Elder Holland has taught the missionaries to “be devastated” when someone doesn’t read, and then to recommit them.  Sometimes people simply need help making and keeping commitments…

Last week we were biking quickly down the steepest and longest hill in the Zone when I saw a rough looking kid standing by the side of the road.  The Spirit told me to stop immediately, so I did. Thankfully I did not wipe out.  We talked to him and learned that he has a child, loves Utah, and spent 8 weeks in SLC and Las Vegas recently.  He loved the temple grounds and the choir.  We also learned that he has been to Church many times and so I challenged him to be baptized right there.  We’re now working on a date for him…

I called an investigator the other day to invite him to a fireside.  He thought he won a prize of some sort.  He didn’t know who I was at first and thought I was offering him a free car.  He was disappointed to discover that it was just the missionaries inviting him to something…

I gave two blessings this week—both to members.  One day we were riding our bikes after an appointment and I felt like stopping on the side of the road for a minute because I had no idea what to do next.  After sitting there for a moment, a car pulled up and the driver asked if we were the Henderson Valley Elders.  We responded that we were and she asked us to give her mother a blessing.  The Bishop, his counselors, and this woman’s hometeachers were all unavailable at the time… so she went looking for the Elders.  Her mother is doing well now from what I understand.  After the blessing, the father asked me if I was part Māori.  He is not the first person to ask me that…

We were in a lesson a few weeks ago and getting ready to strongly oppose someone’s concerns with the Bible, but we felt prompted to be nice about it and find a way to address their concerns without challenging too hard.  From this and other experiences, I’ve discovered it is better to help investigators gain a testimony of the truth rather than spend time challenging their existing beliefs…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

