A Wonderful Baptism

IMG_0161IMG_0157

We had a wonderful baptismal service this past Saturday.  The family was so happy that their daughter has chosen to be baptized.  This is the young girl we met a few weeks ago after all of our appointments fell through and we prayed for guidance on where to go…

I’m getting good at killing mosquitoes…

We met a guy who had lunch with Spencer W. Kimball in SLC one time.  Then he got to sit in on a special session of choir practice and request songs.  That, he said, was the highlight of his trip to the states.  He was even there to use the Church library to research family history.  He reads talks by President Kimball on his iPad too.  He has been reading from the Pearl of Great Price.  He is still not interested in becoming a member…yet…

Several days ago I witnessed a hit-and-run accident and we stopped and helped the victim—a nine year old boy and his mom.  We hadn’t ridden past that spot in several days when I felt prompted to go that way with my companion.  As we rounded the corner we saw a police officer and the lady who had hit the kid and then had left.  The officer said that he was investigating the scene for the first time.  I told him that the Holy Spirit had prompted me to head in that direction at that time.  I sat in his car for an hour or so while he recorded what I had witnessed.  It’s a good thing I was there to witness it too because the lady who backed into the child wasn’t telling the truth about the situation.  Also during the interview, the mom who was with the son walked past.  I pointed her out and we all had a good chat.  Her son, thankfully, is doing just fine and was going to get his stitches out later that day.  The mom said she was very grateful that we had stayed to watch over her son.  Hopefully she will have positive feelings about the church because of our help.  I might have to go to court to testify.  I told the officer I was happy to go…

The youth in Utah have no idea how lucky they are.  I have looked back at my experiences many times now and realized how blessed I was…

Each time you begin a new year, or a new calling, or whenever you feel like re-reading the Book of Mormon my advice would be to get a hardcover copy of the book and make it a fresh experience.  You will mark different things than in the past and gain additional insight in this way…

We taught a lesson on tithing using Coke and Mentos…

I met someone who is obsessed with STAR WARS and is a cousin to Temuira Morrison (the actor who played Jango Fett)…

I scared a kid really badly last night while riding home from a lesson.  I tried to go around him as he was coming towards me on the footpath, but he went the same way I did and then back the other way.  It seemed to him like I was doing it on purpose, and when I slammed on my brakes he shouted and put his hands in the air and said some things in another language.  It was probably something like, “I don’t have any money! Please, don’t hurt me!” Or maybe he said something like, “I love your white shirt!  Will you baptize me!?”…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

